top of page

Chemotherapy OD Protocol

This week, my interest was protocol for chemotherapy overdoses. Although it had seemed unreasonable that the government does not require certification for nurses handling chemo, I fully believe in the chemotherapy protocol that hospitals require. Oncology nurses take a series of exams to ready them in dealing with such a powerful drug. The certification through the hospital expires and requires renewed licenses to handle chemotherapy. When there is an “error” an educational meeting is conducted to sort where the medication went wrong, and to form a plan of action in prevention of the situations reoccurrence. I feel that this is productive management because it not only concerns the oncologist, but the nurses and pharmacists as well.

In the upcoming week, I hope to learn about the different routes a patient can take chemotherapy. Through this research I hope to find the most effective procedures. I also hope to gain knowledge as to why chemo is taken orally, since most errors occur using this method. In this research, I hope to find which course is most effective to increase my knowledge of treatment before entering a hospital.

My growing interest in chemotherapy over other treatment is helping me find my passion for the studies and uncertainties of the oncology unit.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page