top of page

Neuroblastoma Research

This week in ISM I changed my final product to a case study. In the case study, I will create a john doe patient and create a treatment plan and a plan of care for the patient based on their age, prognosis, and screening. I researched neuroblastoma to learn more about the cancer as a candidate for my final product. Neuroblastoma was an interesting child cancer to research because it is the third most common child cancer and has a 40-50% chance of survival for high risk neuroblastoma. Something interesting about this cancer is that once there is a detectable “lump” in either the abdomen, neck, or chest the cancer has already progressed. The cancer is too difficult to detect at earlier stages.

This research has made me come to the conclusion that in the treatment plan I am completing has to start with the way the cancer was first diagnosed. Because treatment is also specific to height, weight, and age, I must determine the patient’s characteristics.

In my next form of research, I hope to find out different ways to treat neuroblastoma and the quickest and most effective treatment plan for this specific cancer. I also need to research to find out age specific and gender specific treatment to begin my final product.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page