top of page

Final Goodbyes

This week in ISM I completed finishing touched on my final product, research presentation, and practiced giving my final presentation speech. I also sadly went to my very last mentor visit this past week. Although my mentorship with Courtney is coming to an end, I will never stop wanting to learn and be a part of the child oncology group.

During my last mentor visit Courtney taught me what chemotherapy is toxic when combined and how to properly make a dosage for a patient. I learned that the [patients dose of medicine is based off of their BSA or body surface area. This is calculated through a computer using the patients height and weight and multiplied by the highest standard form of the chemo treatment. this is how we corrected the dosing I got on my research for my final product. She had corrected and made not of a mistake in my final product when I had used two drugs in tandem that could be toxic to the patient’s brain due to how potent the drug is.

I have enjoyed shadowing my mentor and hate to see our journey come to an end, but I will never forget the things I have learned from Courtney and the amazing experiences I was blessed to be able to share with her.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page