top of page

Blinatumomab vs. Chemotherapy

This week in my independent study, I conducted secondary research based on my interest of FDA approved immunotherapies. I found a therapy that is specific to a cancer Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia (ALL) called Blinatumomab. Blinatumomab is used in higher stages of cancer. In the study that I researched, the treatment was compared to chemotherapy, which is a common route of treatment for cancer. In this comparison, we learn that Blinatumomab has a higher cure rate and long-term remission than chemotherapy.

In this research assessment, I learned a whole lot about Blinatumomab in comparison to chemotherapy. This was important to know different FDA approved immunotherapies that are applicable to child cancers. In this case, the treatment is specific to a specific type of leukemia, which is the most common child cancer. In the trials conducted of this immunotherapy compared to the use of chemotherapy treatment, Blinatumomab was proven to have longer life expectancy and higher cure rates. These statistics are important in to my research of immunotherapy as the noticeable difference between therapies proves the need for immunotherapy.

In my upcoming research and mentor visit, I hope to learn more about child cancers and the administration process. Having gathered all of this information, I will have become better prepared for the book I am creating for my final product.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page