top of page

Making Progress

This week I learned more from my interview with Mrs. MacManus than I would have reading from a textbook. Her calling to pediatric oncology nursing is truly inspiring. She explained the importance of a nurse in the treatment process, and described the role of a nurse as the doctor’s eyes and ears. This remains true considering the doctor only sees the patient fifteen minutes a day. Mrs. MacManus shared nursing strategies with me in the interview such as how to accumulate a day’s schedule, and how to know when a patient is physically ready to start chemotherapy.

This week I also built my correspondence long and kept in contact with some of the nurses that I am interested in talking to through my ISM journey. This week has helped me in furthering my studies as I gained more basic knowledge before stepping into a hospital.

This upcoming week I am looking to build my contact list even more so that I can conduct more interviews. My last interview with Mrs. MacManus has made me interested in immunotherapy studies. She described a chemotherapy that are most often used called Methotrexate. Methotrexate has been around since the 1960, which is interesting since it has not phased out.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page