top of page

Night Shift Nursing and Immuno Proteins

This week I conducted my fifth interview and researched immunotherapy affiliation with proteins.

From my research, I learned a lot about the role of proteins in the treatment process. Most of the treatment is genetically modifying cells to create an immune response to attack the cancerous cells. The proteins help in the process as their job is to grow and repair. In my next assessment, I look to research more about proteins and cytokines, as they may be the lead in research for developing immunotherapies. I also hope to find the answer to my question of whether or not immunotherapy will develop to become a solo therapy. I agree with the timing of the therapy in advanced cancers, but I am also curious to know if it, in the future, will be used before the cancer advances.

My interview went well with Nurse Curran. She gave me a tour of the oncology wing and shared their strategies on motivating the children to brave therapy. She works night shifts, so it was interesting seeing the different moods of mornings and nights of the hospital. During the day, the children are more active and willing to comply, but by night they don’t want to be poked anymore. Nurse Curran shared her knowledge of immunotherapy and interested me in the night shift work flow. I enjoyed my interview with her and hope to gain more information about the different hours of the hospital.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page