top of page

Next Step, Choosing a Mentor

This upcoming week I need to make a decision on who I want to ask to be my mentor. I have completed five interviews and I am looking for a sixth from another family educator nurse at the Children’s Medical Center of Dallas. The previous interviews I have conducted have made me decide that I want to pursue a mentorship at the Children’s Medical Center of Dallas, because I believe that I can learn more from this hospital about advancing medicines and educational procedures. The decision will come down to whether or not I want to pursue family education in the oncology wing alongside a nurse, or if I want to shadow a pediatric oncology nurse that is not specific to education. Also, I need to decide on whether or not I want to shadow a nurse that I show great interest in, that works night shifts. The nurse’s availability and willingness to teach me will be a huge part of my decision. I look forward to choosing a mentor and advancing in my studies through the mentorship. I am very grateful for the opportunities I have been given to interview with amazing nurses and doctors. The fact that I have met so many brilliant nurses will make the decision much harder to settle.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page