top of page

Research Showcase

This week in Independent Study and Mentorship we had our annual Research Showcase and composed an assessment over the event. At the event, I displayed the research that I have conducted over the semester and displayed my original work. My website and poster brought attraction to my booth. this experience was amazing being able to talk about my passion to become a nurse and all of the research I conducted on developing cancer treatment.

During the showcase, I stood by my board and explained my research, answered any questions, and talked about my mentorship. Explaining my original work made me become even more passionate about my topic. I enjoyed teaching my peers and adults about immunotherapy and bringing discussion of cancer treatment to the table. Speaking on my topic and research has prepared me for what it will be like educating families as a nurse in the future of the therapy a child may be receiving. This was an amazing experience, as I had the opportunity to practice what Nurse Cindi Winkle (my mentor) does every day as a patient and family educator nurse.

Information that I shared with families about the difference between child and adult cancers as well as how immunotherapy is used in treatment was staggering to them. I enjoyed sharing new information on research that is developing and newly developed because this was something that most people that approached my table did not know. This is where I see the most use of the website that I created for my original work. The website is directed at patients and the families of patients having immunotherapy treatment, but this website may also be a good resource for people to use to catchup on the progress of cancer research. Immunotherapy is the future of the cure to cancer, I fully believe, and common knowledge of the treatment will bring awareness toward this new therapy.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page